Nik Bärtsch


Music, Movement, Mind

LISTENING: Music – Movement – Mind is a conceptual and practical book about the creative relationship between mind and body in the context of music and martial arts. Musician and composer Nik Bärtsch, founder of the so-called Ritual Groove Music, has developed techniques that offer musicians and martial artists useful and surprising tools to support, focus and simplify learning and creative processes in many fields of artistic activity and daily life.

The book is based on the long-standing experience of Nik Bärtsch and his wife Andrea Pfisterer as aikido practitioners, performers in live music, cultural entrepreneurs and teachers of music and physical techniques. Through essays and pictures, interviews, exercises and games, the book conveys the authors’ poetic understanding of body and mind and inspires the individual creativity and consciousness of the readers, regardless of their backgrounds. It also documents the stages of Bärtsch’s musical development as composer, solo pianist and bandleader of Ronin and Mobile, two formations that enjoy international recognition.

Sumptuously produced [...], ambitious in its scope, and bristling with thought provoking observations, Bärtsch’s defiantly unconventional volume rarely shoots wide of the mark.”

«Kann das gutgehen, wenn ein Künstler ein Buch über sich und seine Kunst schreibt? Im Fall von Nik Bärtsch durchaus
NZZ Neue Zürcher Zeitung


Author(s): Nik Bärtsch in collaboration with Andrea Pfisterer
Design: Integral Lars Müller

15 × 21,5 cm, 6 × 8 ½ in
352 pages, 194 illustrations
2021, 978-3-03778-670-3, English
40,00 €