1. L.A. [Ten]
    L.A. [Ten]
    Interviews on Los Angeles Architecture, 1970–1990s

    Edited by Stephen Phillips

    Design: Cal Poly L.A. Metro Program in Architecture and Urban Design with Stephen Phillips Architects (SPARCHS)

    Catapulted to fame by the international media in and around the 1980s, a loosely affiliated cadre of architects – the so-called L.A. Ten – emerged to define the future of Los Angeles architecture. In this book, L.A. Ten architects Neil Denari, Frederick Fisher, Ming Fung, Craig Hodgetts, Coy Howard, Franklin Israel (posthumously), Wes Jones, Thom Mayne, Eric Owen Moss, and Michael Rotondi offer a casual, witty, and approachable retrospective on the characters, environment, and cultural history of L.A. architecture as they remember it through a series of oral history interviews conducted by Stephen Phillips alongside Wim de Wit, Christopher Alexander (both Getty Research Institute), and the students of the Cal Poly LA Metro Program in Architecture and Urban Design. Touching upon the intrigue and development surrounding the Los Angeles architecture scene from Postmodernism through Deconstructivism, this book reveals deeply personal and moving stories and events about many of the formative conferences, exhibitions, pedagogical developments, and formal and material strategies of the avant-garde Los Angeles architecture community from the 1970s to the 1990s. 
    STEPHEN PHILLIPS, an architect, historian and educator, is Associate Professor of Architecture at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, and Founding Director of the Cal Poly L.A. Metro Program in Architecture and Urban Design.

    15.2 x 22.9 cm, 6 x 9 in, 256 pages, 194 illustrations, hardcover (2014)

    ISBN 978-3-03778-409-9, English

    €29.00 / $35.00 / £25.00
    I. Neil Denari
    II. Thom Mayne
    III. Franklin Israel Retrospective
    IV. Eric Owen Moss
    V. Michael Rotondi
    VI. Craig Hodgetts + Hsinming Fung
    VII. Wes Jones
    VIII. Frederick Fisher
    IX. Coy Howard